Boomdizzle - LL's Virtual Recording Studio

LL has jumped onto the technology train too but you'll be happy to hear it's not a new line of headphones...much more interestingly, he's revealed that his new venture, known as Boomdizzle, essentially consists in a Virtual Recording Studio accessible through a web-based application from anywhere in the world. This means that if you're in New York and your producer is in Miami, you can still work together on your track(s) in real-time!

The software launches soon but will be by invitation only to start with. If you want to know more about the service, check out the official site www.boomdizzle.com.


Why Did Gang Starr Split Up?

Why did Gang Starr split up? A lot of Hip Hop heads from the late 80s and 90s are probably still wondering why one of the best Hip Hop groups ever ended up feuding and eventually splitting up to the great disappointment of the Hip Hop community. The real reasons have never been fully disclosed (will they ever?) but Gang Starr affiliate and close friend of Guru has decided to speak his peace on the issue and he blames the split on drugs, theft, ego and porn beats! 

Check the video below courtesy of Forbez DVD which will soon release 'Breakup of the Chain & Starr' - an entire documentary dedicated to the break up of Gang Starr.

Saigon "Warning Shots 3" Mixtape Trailer

Saigon released a short trailer to his upcoming mixtape 'Warning Shots 3' scheduled to drop January 24th and executive produced by his loyal supporter Just Blaze. We're looking forward to this tape, it should be a banger if it sounds anything like 'The Greatest Story Never Told' which as far as we're concerned was one the best releases of 2011!

Check out the trailer below:


DJ Premier's Top 25 Albums of 2011

Premo has revealed his Top 25 Hip Hop Albums of 2011 and even if on a lot we agree there are some interesting/curious picks (and omissions) in the list...The Game number 1 for example?? Peep the complete list below and let us know your thoughts!

25. Large Professor & Neek The Exotic – Still On The Hustle
24. Edo G – A Face In The Crowd
23. Ill Bill & Vinnie Paz – Heavy Metal Kings
22. Greneberg – Greneberg
21. Action Bronson & Statik Selektah – Well Done
20. Apathy – Honkey Kong
19. The Away Team – Scars And Stripes
18. Kanye West & Jay-Z – Watch The Throne
17. Torae – For The Record
16. Bumpy Knuckles & Statik Selektah – Lyrical Workout
15. Common – The Dreamer, The Believer
14. Maffew Ragazino Sr. – Rhyme Pays
13. Bad Meets Evil – Hell: The Sequel
12. Drake – Take Care
11. Statik Selektah – Population Control
10. Random Axe – Random Axe
09. Malcolm And Martin – Life Doesn’t Frighten Me
08. Royce da 5’9″ – Success Is Certain
07. Phonte – Charity Starts At Home
06. 50 Cent – The Big 10
05. Reks – R.E.K.S.
04. M.O.P. & Snowgoons – Sparta
03. Evidence – Cats & Dogs
02. 9th Wonder – The Wonder Years
01. Game – The R.E.D. Album

Honorable Mentions: 

Fresh Vetz “Fresh 2 Def” 
Pharoahe Monch “W.A.R.”
Raekwon “Shaolin vs. Wu-Tang” 
Rasheed Chappell “Future Before Nostalgia” 
Sadat X “No Features” 
Showbiz & KRS-One “Godsville” 
Skyzoo “The Great Debater” 
The Regiment “The Panic Button”
The Roots “Undun”

Best Albums and Mixtapes of 2011 - Hip Hop's Finest Speak

Courtesy of XXL, rappers and djs talk about their favourite albums and mixtapes of 2011:


Rick Ross 'Rich Forever' Mixtape

The new Rick Ross mixtape 'Rich Forever' is about to drop in a few hours and no doubt we'll have it right here for you to listen and download! While you wait, check the tracklist below - 19 tracks packed with featurings such as Meek Mill, French Montana, Styles P, 2 Chainz and more:



T.I. 'Fuck Da City Up' Mixtape - Free Download

The 'Fuck Da City Up' mixtape has just dropped, 19 tracks featuring the likes of Young Jeezy, Meek Mill, Dr.Dre, Too Short and many more - Listen or download it for free right here! 

Raekwon 'Unexpected Victory' Mixtape Download

We're back from the holidays still nursing a hangover from Sunday night but fully ready for another Rap year to begin! And to get the New Year started on the right foot, here's the new Raekwon mixtape full of new material from The Chef while we wait for OBFCL III to drop! Listen to it or download it now!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin